Sellers tells buyer of missing postcards after payment

• anchorite

8 messages

Canada

I have been buying postcards as part of my hobby for around 12 years, originally "elsewhere" and later on Delcampe. Buying from "elsewhere", I can only recall one instance in which a seller told me after receiving payment that they couldn't find a postcard, in fact, I cannot recall a seller telling me they couldn't find a postcard BEFORE they sent me an invoice. However, my experience of buying postcards on Delcampe has been so fraught, I EXPECT sellers to tell me after I have paid that at least one postcard cannot be found.

The result of this is usually a mess - I am asked to find a substitute, which I can't because I have already spent hours going through the sellers' inventory, or I am refunded through PayPal but not as a partial refund on the original transaction, thus incurring fees on an already small amount, or rarely, the seller does make a partial refund on the original transaction, which has happened today (a week after I paid), except that I find the seller has the "missing" postcard listed twice and still has the other one up for sale and at the same price.

Because Delcampe is very much a village shop / boot fair / garage sale type of place, a significant number of sellers do not accept PayPal (don't get me started on the ridiculous Skrill), and on a number of occasions I have been obliged to send cash from Canada to Europe, to date without a problem except on the last occasion the seller only sent me 10 of the 14 postcards we had agreed on and sent a one Euro coin "refund" with the postcards received - not very helpful.